Auto insurance Memphis TN – If you live in Memphis Tennessee, you must have already known that this area is the eight-lowest auto insurance premium in US. The states dictate that the car owner must at least bring minimum liability policy in order to operate the vehicle in the state. Thus, you need to find the right auto insurance Memphis TN company that will enable you to have affordable rates so that you need to read this post to get adequate information about the insurance requirements in Memphis TN.
Requirements of Auto Insurance Memphis TN
In order to legally drive in Memphis Tennessee, you must obey to the states law that related to car insurance. There are two types of coverage that you need to carry if you want to drive in Memphis safely.
The first one is bodily injury liability and the second one is property damage liability. If you are a new car owner, you may not that familiar with those two terms. Thus, you need to read the explanation carefully so that you will have better understanding about auto insurance coverage.
Bodily injury liability will take its responsibility to help you in paying medical expenses in the even if you cause bodily injury to other party when you drive you vehicle carelessly. The minimum coverage for injury to death is at about $25,000 for one person in an accident.
For more than one person injured or death will be covered at about $50,000. Meanwhile property damage liability at about $15,000 will help you to pay for damage suffered by another person’s property when you are at fault in the accident.
It’s not simply that you carry those coverages but you must also be able to show that you carry proof of liability auto insurance Memphis TN. You will be equipped with insurance card so that you can show it to the officer when there is a sudden inspection on the road or when you are involved in a car accident.
Penalties When You Don’t Meet the Auto Insurance Memphis TN Requirements
If you don’t carry auto insurance in Tennessee you will be charge with a fine at about $100. Moreover, you will have worse scenario when your driver’s license is suspended. When this case happen, of course it’s hard for you to drive your car freely because you are afraid of being caught by the officer.
Then, if you don’t have financial responsibility, you may find your vehicle impounded and you can’t also register your vehicle.
To be able to register your vehicle, you must provide a proof that you have already purchased state’s minimum insurance requirement. Then, you can submit to the Financial Responsibility Division of the Tennessee Department of Safety then your registration will be processed within 3 days.
Some insurance company may require you to purchase additional coverage after the reinstatement process. Since you also need to protect yourself, you can choose comprehensive coverage as your shield.
Where to Get Auto Insurance?
You can contact your local insurance agent that will eagerly help you finding best auto insurance company. The insurance agent may offer a wide range of coverage but you should keep in your mind that purchasing too much coverages resulting your account will run out of money.
You can ask the agent whether there is an insurance company that will likely give special discounts or not.
After they give you suggestion about an insurance company, you can make a small investigation to finally find the right auto insurance Memphis TN that will give extra protection to your precious car.